Albert Llanas Rich

Albert Llanas Rich: Compositions, awards, biography and more about the catalan composer

contextO VI

This composition is part of the collection of pieces with the common name Contexto. Contexto VI for solo clarinet was written in 1993. It is a passionate and very expressive work that combines the conventional sound of the instrument with a remarkable variety of contemporary effects such as frullato, quarters of tone and wind sound. The piece is divided into three sections (A-B-A’). The first section shows the clarinet’s ability in terms of dynamics, register and articulation contrasts. The central section, a kind of slow motion, must be performed misterioso e calmo. The quarters of tone create a fascinating atmosphere with brief brushstrokes of section A. Llanas proves to be a very good connoisseur of clarinet and, as he himself confesses, was heavily influenced in this composition by other masterpieces of contemporary music for clarinet: Nielsen’s Clarinet Concerto and Franco Donatoni’s Clair, who was one of his main teachers.

Text by Josep Sancho

Audio and score on YouTube (version: Josep Ramón Sancho, clarinet):

Listen to Joan Pere Gil’s version on YouTube:

The score is edited by LA MÀ DE GUIDO (legal deposit: B-43.423-2001) and is dedicated to Joan Pere Gil.

© 2022 Albert Llanas Rich

Theme by Anders Norén